Feeds:
Posts
Comments

042

The earliest known view of Harvard showing its first complete quadrangle, by William Burgess, 1726, courtesy of Building Old Cambridge by Susan E. Maycock and Charles M. Sullivan, MIT Press, 2016, p. 757.

Join Cambridge Public Library’s Archivist Alyssa Pacy for a lunchtime tour of Harvard Yard.  We will meet inside Johnston Gate at 12 on Thursday July 20 for a 45 minute walk.  (Alyssa will be carrying a red folder so you can identify her.)

This tour is part of the City of Cambridge’s Walking Series.

Advertisements


 2016 Public Art Walk, Central Square

Cambridge Walking Tours
Each week features a different theme and neighborhood. Bring friends, get moving and learn fun and interesting facts about a neighborhood!   (View the poster here.)

Thursdays, 12 PM
Approximately 45 minutes

July 20
Historical Highlights of Harvard Yard
Meet inside the Johnston Gate
(walk leader will be holding a red placard)

July 27
Explore Magazine Beach Park
Pool Entrance, 719 Memorial Drive

August 3
Cambridge Women’s History
Cambridge City Hall, 795 Massachusetts Ave.

August 10
Public Art, Harvard Sq. and Cambridge Common
Harvard Square T-Station, Main Entrance

 

 


Broadside, Dear Gaybashers by Jill McDonough, illustrated by Michael Shapiro, from the Michael Shapiro Papers.

Pride, Cambridge-Style

Exhibition Location: 2nd Floor of the Main Library

A selection of broadsides, poems, and posters celebrating LGBTQ+ life are currently on display. Curated by Daniel Wuenschel, this exhibitions draws from the Cambridge Room’s collections and feature poets and artists connected to Cambridge.

Two poems
Landscape without Touch and Still Life by Olga Broumas
from Soie Sauvage: Poems, published by Copper Canyon Press, 1979
Available in the Louisa Solano Papers.

Broadside
Dear Gaybashers by Jill McDonough, illustrated by Michael Shapiro
“Printed in honor of Jill McDonough’s reading at Cambridge Public Library on October 28, 2015”
Available in the Michael Shapiro Papers.

Broadside
Lines for Chelsea Manning by John Mulrooney, designed by Mark Lamoureux, printed on the occasion of the author’s reading at the 2016 Boston Poetry Marathon in Inman Square, Cambridge
Available in the Daniel Wuenschel Papers.

Poster
Reading and Book Signing celebrating the publication of the book The Letters of James Schuyler to Frank O’Hara, edited by William Corbett
Pierre Menard Gallery, Cambridge
Saturday, October 21 2006
Available in the William Corbet Papers.

Poem
In Memory of Joe Brainerd by Frank Bidart
From Desire, published by Farrar, Straus, and Giroux, 1997
Available in the Louisa Solano Papers.

Book
Nuestra Senora de los Dolores: The San Francisco Experience by Charley Shively, published by Good Gay Poets, 1975
Available in the Louisa Solano Papers.

Poster
Celebrating 10 Years of Marriage Equality, designed by Luke Kirkland, 2014, Cambridge Public Library.
Available in the Cambridge Public Library Records.

For this year’s Open Archives, the Cambridge Room will show you what life was like in 18th Century Cambridge through four objects.  If you’re interested sign up here – tickets are nearly sold out.  This event is FREE but registration is required.  We hope to see you next Wednesday June 21st at either the 6 p.m. or 7 p.m. tour.

097_00_01_005

Alice Ronchetti outside the Cambridge Public Library Branch No.1 in 1935.

 

 

We are pleased to announce that the Alice M. Ronchetti Papers, 1935-1973, have been digitized and can now be viewed online, in addition to the original hard copies being available for research at the Cambridge Public Library.

Alice Ronchetti worked as a librarian for the Cambridge Public Library for 38 years, from 1935 until her retirement in 1973. During her professional life, Ronchetti dedicated herself to the needs of both young people and adults. Her “unselfish and outstanding service to the citizens of Cambridge” was noted by the Board of Library Trustees in their resolution to accept her retirement from her position of head librarian.

This collection contains Alice Ronchetti’s professional documents and photographs. The documents include her Certificate of Librarianship and two letters that document her retirement: one acceptance letter from library Director Joseph G. Sakey and one resolution passed by the Board of Library Trustees. The photographs in this collection were taken at East Cambridge (now the O’Connell Branch) and Mount Auburn (now the Collins Branch). They depict Alice Ronchetti’s work life in the Cambridge Public Library system, including her co-workers, children she worked with, and events held at the library. Some of the photographs were undated and the dates have been estimated.

Alice Mary Ronchetti was born on May 24, 1912 to Cesar Ronchetti (b. 1884) and Clotilde Nicoli (1883-1974) in Boston, Massachusetts. She was one of six siblings (Alfred, Joseph, Rose Mary, Mary, and James). Her family moved to Cambridge around 1921. Ronchetti died on October 1, 1986 at age 74 and is buried in the North Cambridge Catholic Cemetery.


Join us for the 9th Annual Cambridge Open Archives, June 19-22, 2017! 

This event is FREE but registration is required. Sign up here.

What is Open Archives? For four days, seven Cambridge repositories and special collections will open their doors to the public to showcase some of their most interesting materials — and the tales that go along with them. This year, our participants will present collections materials that fit with the theme of “living and dying in Cambridge.”

Our participants this year: Mount Auburn Cemetery, The Peabody Museum of Archaeology & Ethnology at Harvard University, the Harvard Semitic Museum, Longfellow House – Washington’s Headquarters, The Cambridge Historical Society, The Cambridge Room (Cambridge Public Library), and the Harvard Art Museums Archives.

Our fellow archivists at the Cambridge Historical Commission have just launched a new blog.  On it you will find highlights from collections, staff and researcher favorites, and stories about Cambridge history.

One of our favorites is a post about the Cambridge Historical Commission Architectural Survey File.  The Commission has a file on every address in the city, a resource that is unique in New England and perhaps in America.  Between 1964 and 1977, the Commission surveyed and photographed every building in Cambridge.  These files contain architectural survey forms, photographs, newspaper clippings and anything of interest relating to the current building or demolished building on the site.  These survey files are a priceless resource.  We often send patrons to the Commission to search these files and soon they will be available online.

An example of an architectural survey form from CHC’s files.